Please select Into the mobile phone version | Continue to access the computer ver.
[Resolved] GPS Module Failure? Need to return for repair.
5534 24 2016-3-25
Uploading and Loding Picture ...(0/1)
o(^-^)o
Old Geezer
lvl.4
Flight distance : 23691 ft
United Kingdom

My 2 month old Phantom 3 Advanced just fell out of the sky on approximately it's 10th flight.

I'm new to multi-rotor so I've been taking my time getting used to the P3A and not pushing the envelope at all.

The flight where it failed was it's second flight of the day in the same location - one of our big open beaches here in Northumberland UK.

The first flight went smoothly with full control and testing various altitudes between -0.1 metres and approx 70 metres, plus various flight directions (forwards, backwards, sideways plus level, climbing and descending as well as rotating while doing those).  It's my longest flight to date at around 6 minutes and roughly 1200 metres flight path.

Raw footage from the flight immediately before the one that crashed over the same beach ... as in the crash flight was 2 or 3 minutes after this one, with the battery still having around 65% power on recovery of the bird.

Notice the unexplained switch from "follow" mode to "FPV" mode between  5:30 and 5:40 into the video when I turn the aircraft and the horizon  suddenly flips by about 20 degrees?  No idea what happened there. Any ideas?

The 2nd flight started well too - flew out straight from home at 15 metres above home, then tilted to 90 degrees down to get some video of the sea lapping on the beach, and did a slow pull back flight curving gently back to home.  Half way back added a slow climb too - like I said I'm a full learner and was practicing flight control.  Unfortunately, though I thought I'd pressed video record, it looks like I didnt ... so no video of this flight - aaargh.