Please select Into the mobile phone version | Continue to access the computer ver.
Legality Gray Area?
3544 37 2016-4-26
Uploading and Loding Picture ...(0/1)
o(^-^)o
mattschaefer
New

United States

I'm pretty new to droning, but have managed to take some excellent videos, particularly on my friends ranch.  Long story short, my kids' school PTO noticed and asked me to use it to get footage of one of their events.  There's no money involved, just me getting to use my toy, and them getting cool shots for their facebook page.  I'm concerned about liability and if it's even legal to be "hired out" even though it's free.  The PTO has liability insurance for events and the runners (it's a "color run") sign a release, I'm just looking into whether or not I'm included in that as an amateur "pilot" helping out with the event.  

Any insights?  Am I over thinking it?  Under thinking it?
2016-4-26
Use props
TJ10
lvl.3

Canada

Here in Canada, if you're using it for any kind of commercial use (even for no money) you need insurance and a license.
2016-4-26
Use props
mattschaefer
New

United States

TJ10 Posted at 2016-4-26 18:52
Here in Canada, if you're using it for any kind of commercial use (even for no money) you need insur ...

That's my concern.  I think it'd be fine, it's all friendly and they know me personally.  I'm just worried about that "worst case" scenario.
2016-4-26
Use props
TJ10
lvl.3

Canada

mattschaefer Posted at 2016-4-26 20:55
That's my concern.  I think it'd be fine, it's all friendly and they know me personally.  I'm just ...

If you know them all and they have insurance, I'd go for it. Just think safety first. Don't fly over anybody and put them at risk. That's the only concern you really have. If it falls on their building/property, I'm sure it won't be the end of the world as they know you. I'd keep a good distance from any people though at all times, so that if it does fall, it won't hit anyone
2016-4-26
Use props
mattschaefer
New

United States