Can one fly Phantom 2 / gopro / zenmuse withOUT FPV?
5940 34 2016-6-15
Uploading and Loding Picture ...(0/1)
o(^-^)o
pagecarr
lvl.1

United States

Is it possible to fly a Phantom 2 / gopro / zenmuse H3-3D WITHOUT an FPV system? Will the gimbal function without an FPV?
I do not need to monitor the video or control the camera in flight. I will look at the video later. I do however want the camera to remain level.
What do the cables between the aircraft and the camera allow?
Will the gimbal keep the camera level without these cable connections?
I am new to everything about this, online searches have not been helpful. Any directions to appropriate resources would be much appreciated.
Thank you!

2016-6-15
Use props
johnwarr
Second Officer
Flight distance : 6467 ft
United Kingdom

Yes you can fly without FPV, the Phantom's rear LED's will give you all the basic information you need.
Here is the DJI video on how to connect the Zenmuse gimbal
It will need to be connected to the Phantom to work.
2016-6-15
Use props
Cetaman
First Officer
Flight distance : 2528264 ft
  • >>>
United States

Aloha pagecarr,

As john is showing you with the video, yes you can fly without FPV.  You are right to note you want the camera to remain level.  The Zenmuse does that very well.  However, the H3-3D is a couple years old and is for the GoPro Hero 3 camera.  Is that the camera you have?  If you have the Hero 4, Zenmuse has the H4-3D.  I mention this because there may be a compatibility issue.

John points out how the lights help you orient the P2 toward your scene of interest.  There are also colored propguards you can buy that are really helpful in orienting your P2.  I have black and white quick release propguards that let me see which way it is facing at 1000 feet distance.  During the day I use white in front and at night I use black in front.  But, you have to keep your camera tilt oriented so the propguards stay out of the scene you are shooting.