Please select Into the mobile phone version | Continue to access the computer ver.
IMU Calbiration Frequency - Offical line
Uploading and Loding Picture ...(0/1)
o(^-^)o
Homestead72
lvl.2

United Kingdom

Hi all,

Does anyone know (or can any DJI reps confirm) whether or not I need to be doing an IMU and Gimbal re-cablibration after a firmware update?  I know some people say they always do but it would be good to know the official advice on this?

Thanks
2016-7-6
Use props
DJI-Paladin
Administrator
Flight distance : 2408 ft
Hong Kong

Hello Homestead72, it is recommended to do these calibrations after the firmware update.
2016-7-6
Use props
DJI-H.C
Administrator
Flight distance : 13602 ft

Yep. Also do it when you see any signs of drones flying abnormally and want to repair it.
2016-7-7
Use props
RedHotPoker
Captain
Flight distance : 165105 ft
Canada

After already having updated the Go app, I did my IMU and Gimbal calibration earlier, after leaving my drone outside on the cool evening balcony, for 25mins.

What an awesome night... Wish I could have stepped out and flown the coop. But that will happen later on, today... ;-)

RedHotPoker
2016-7-7
Use props
labroides
Core User of DJI
Flight distance : 9991457 ft
  • >>>
Australia

DJI-Paladin Posted at 2016-7-7 17:37
Hello Homestead72, it is recommended to do these calibrations after the firmware update.

If it's so important, why is it that DJI don't even mention this in the manual or in firmware upgrade instructions?

I've never done an IMU calibration followinga firmware update and never noticed any ill effects.  
Same for lots of others.
If it really mattered, DJI would recommend it where it matters.
2016-7-7
Use props
wmichaels1
lvl.4
Flight distance : 694728 ft
  • >>>
United States

labroides@yahoo Posted at 2016-7-7 05:43
If it's so important, why is it that DJI don't even mention this in the manual or in firmware upgr ...

"If it really mattered, DJI would recommend it where it matters."