Second display while flying?
Uploading and Loding Picture ...(0/1)
o(^-^)o
jlaub
lvl.2
Flight distance : 559183 ft

Hi all. I'm new to drones but want to get some great video. I (think I) am good at flying but my partner has a better artistic eye for video. Is there a way to connect or use a second display so we don't both have to try to view the same tiny iPad mini under a sun hood while airborne? I have a P3 PRO and we have other iPads available if there were a way to "double" the screen image.

THANKS! This forum is a great source of information!
2016-7-15
Use props
gil
lvl.4
Flight distance : 1379308 ft
United States

You could add the optional HDMI Output module.
2016-7-15
Use props
Rabidman
lvl.1

United States

You could try splicing two lightning cables together so you have one usb-A (normal) connector and then two lightning (or whatever ipad minis use) connectors. I have never tried this and I dont think it will work but it is worth a shot.
2016-7-15
Use props
kdcox
lvl.3
Flight distance : 1386588 ft

As Gil suggests, add the 99 dollar HDMI module.  I use it all the time to output to a second device (headplay goggles)
2016-7-15
Use props
jlaub
lvl.2
Flight distance : 559183 ft

I think I found something that will work for me... We are Apple fans. There is software I can install on a MacBook that makes it an AirPlay receiver. I have a Verizon MiFi jet pack hotspot create a wireless network and simply mirror my iPad mini to the MacBook Pro. Round about way to do it but only cost me $15 for the MacBook Pro software. My MiFi unit doesn't even have a SIM in it so absolutely no internet involved.
2016-7-15
Use props
DJI-Paladin
Administrator
Flight distance : 2408 ft
Hong Kong

In my personal opinion, an HDMI module and FPV goggles may meet your need. Here is a video tutorial of installing the HDMI module and your idea of using the MiFi and Airplay is also worth to try.
2016-7-15
Use props
Cetaman
First Officer
Flight distance : 2528264 ft
  • >>>
United States