Phantom 4 complete lost of signal and no RTH
14511 20 2016-8-8
Uploading and Loding Picture ...(0/1)
o(^-^)o
ronall50
lvl.1
Flight distance : 38491 ft

I was flying yesterday evening over a river and at about 1400 feet away from me and Altitude of about 250 feet clear line of sight. with no warning I lost total signal to drone and it just hovered. It did not initiate RTH. I waited about 2-3 minutes nothing so I started running towards the drone and I was able to get signal back. All setting in DJI GO was correct with RTH if lost signal. I would be happy to upload any files you need to see. I'm a new pilot so just let me know what you need and how to get them to you. Thanks for your help

Ron Allison

http://healthydrones.com/main?share=TxtnZt
2016-8-8
Use props
labroides
Core User of DJI
Flight distance : 9991457 ft
  • >>>
Australia

The most likely explanation is that you just lost the video downlink which commonly drops out before the contril signal is lost.
If so you would have still had full control of your Phantom and it would have been hovering waiting for you to do something.
You could have activated RTH.
You can tell if you still have control signal if the LED on the controller is green.  It becomes red if you lose control signal and the Phantom will initiate RTH itself 3 seconds after control signal is lost.
2016-8-8
Use props
ronall50
lvl.1

DJI Go said disconnected. I added the report from healthy drone if that helps
2016-8-8
Use props
labroides
Core User of DJI
  • >>>
Australia

ronall50 Posted at 2016-8-9 09:23
DJI Go said disconnected. I added the report from healthy drone if that helps

If you click on the Notifications tab, HD confirms what I guessed:
Downlink data connection lost ( Data Loss ) means that the remote got partial or no flight data from the aircraft for more than 1 second, which means the data downlink had issues.