Water Landing - Phantom 3 S spent 2 minutes in water - what to do?
2844 15 2016-8-14
Uploading and Loding Picture ...(0/1)
o(^-^)o
scschulte
lvl.2
Flight distance : 159370 ft

My Phantom 3 S fell 2-3 minutes upside down in pond water (but did not sink, but was full submerged - to hung-up on a branch thank goodness).  No salt, no chemicals - relatively (very) clean water.  I took it out, removed the battery, dried it with a cloth, then a hairdryer (same with battery).

Questions:
1.  Has anyone had this experience?  If so what did you do and what were your results?
2.  Is the battery going to work even if the P3S doesn't?  (of course no one probably knows, just if you've got an idea or had this experience)
3.  I have the 1-year repair coverage -- Is water damage covered?  (I hope so!)

Any comments appreciated.

Thanks very much,

Best regards,

Steve Schulte
Sunday 14 August 2016

2016-8-14
Use props
dgboo7
lvl.3
Flight distance : 1364534 ft
United States

I'm no expert, when a PCB..printed circuit board..is exposed to liquid it will short out if it was powered..my advise is do not power the unit on, have DJI take a look at it...JMHO

Good luck
2016-8-14
Use props
dgboo7
lvl.3
Flight distance : 1364534 ft
United States

I'm no expert, when a PCB..printed circuit board..is exposed to liquid it will short out if it was powered..my advise is do not power the unit on, have DJI take a look at it...JMHO

Good luck
2016-8-14
Use props
scschulte
lvl.2
United States

dgboo7@tampabay Posted at 2016-8-14 10:32
I'm no expert, when a PCB..printed circuit board..is exposed to liquid it will short out if it was p ...

It seems that water damage is NOT covered…  So I think I will just dry it out for a day or so and then try to start-up using my second (dry!) battery…  Any other comments appreciated by you or others!

Best regards,

Steve Schulte
Sunday 14 August 2016
2016-8-14
Use props
darrin
lvl.4
Flight distance : 1004731 ft
United States