Phantom 4 slow descent speed
5735 12 2016-8-30
Uploading and Loding Picture ...(0/1)
o(^-^)o
jonaspeterson
lvl.1

United States

I'm new to flying drones and I know the question seems to come up now and then, but I'm having issues with very, very, very slow descent speed with my Phantom 4 in P mode. I know it's supposed to descend at 2m/s, but I get nowhere near that, I wouldn't be surprised if I'm at 0.3m/s. It takes a looooong time to get the bird down no matter if I do a straight vertical descent or if I try and go down and move in any direction as I do so. I tried sports mode and that seems to work better, the bird comes down way, way faster.

Am I doing something wrong or is the Phantom 4 in P mode supposed to come down that slowly?
2016-8-30
Use props
labroides
Core User of DJI
Flight distance : 9991457 ft
  • >>>
Australia

"I know it's supposed to descend at 2m/s, but I get nowhere near that, I wouldn't be surprised if I'm at 0.3m/s. "

Short of killing the motors, there's nothing that would make you descend faster.
Instead of wondering and guessing, look at your instruments on screen and see exactly what your descent rate is.  It's the number labelled VS (vertical speed)
You can also check in the playback of your flight records in the app.
FYI descent speed = 3 m/sec in GPS mode and 4 m/sec in Sport mode
2016-8-30
Use props
bayguy69
lvl.4
Flight distance : 944275 ft
Puerto Rico

The same happend to me the other day with my P4. I was thinking that was a problem with the unit. But then I upload my flight data in Healthy Drones and at the moment of my decent, the P4 was flying with 29 knot wind gust. The way to go is with the Sport mode so you can use the full power of the motors to compensate with the wind. My advise is to review your flight data.
2016-8-30
Use props
DJI Mindy
Administrator
Flight distance : 7 ft
  • >>>

Hello jonaspeterson,you can try to calibrate the vision system via the latest DJI Assistant 2 in PC. Here is the tutorial: