Steadicam Walk
2099 10 2016-9-11
Uploading and Loding Picture ...(0/1)
o(^-^)o
Maxi3D
Second Officer
Flight distance : 307621 ft
  • >>>

I found that even with the gimbals on my OSMO Mobile to smooth out the my footsteps while filming, I could still see slightly the up and down motions of my walking on the video when I am fast tracking a subject. I know there is a walking method for Steadicam operator to smooth out the walking or running motions. I tried google it, but all I get is demonstrations of Steadicam. Does anyone knows the technique?
2016-9-11
Use props
Sky-way
lvl.2

United States

You bend your knees slightly and roll your steps from heel to toe.  You want to use your knees like a shock absorber to try and reduce up and down movements.  I'm no expert, but this is the general consensus for a smooth filming walk.  It's not hard, it just takes practice.

You could also look into the dji z axis.  From what I've seen and read, it really helps reduce the up down bob from walking.
2016-9-11
Use props
hallmark007
Captain
Flight distance : 9827923 ft
  • >>>
Ireland

Just walk like John Cleese,you will look a bit strange but will have less up & Down
2016-9-11
Use props
skay
lvl.2
Flight distance : 31932 ft
United States

Sky-way Posted at 2016-9-11 14:04
You bend your knees slightly and roll your steps from heel to toe.  You want to use your knees like  ...

The Z-axis attachment is not compatible with the Osmo Mobile.
2016-9-11
Use props
nigelbrinkmann
Second Officer
Flight distance : 586391 ft
Australia

Hi, try using the osmo mobile in flash light mode this may help a bit to reduce the up and down movement.
As mentioned above the z-axis is not compatible with the osmo mobile, as the gimbal can not be removed.
2016-9-11
Use props
Sky-way
lvl.2

United States

skay Posted at 2016-9-11 18:45
The Z-axis attachment is not compatible with the Osmo Mobile.