Newbie to drones, couple of questions.
898 14 2016-9-20
Uploading and Loding Picture ...(0/1)
o(^-^)o
Eazy123
lvl.2
  • >>>

Hi all, I've been mulling over purchasing a drone for a couple of years now, and am considering getting the DJI3 standard - mostly just to fly around, and also plan on doing some photography/video with it here and there.  

Kinda dumb question but I wanted to get an idea: Only issue I have with getting a drone is that I live within two miles of an airport. Does anyone have a similar situation and are you still able to fly without much issue?  I've been holding off partly because of this reason.  

My state's law says any time you fly within 5 miles of an airport you have to notify the airport.  I'd hate to have to call the airport every single time I go out flying, especially if I'm not flying a couple hundred feet high.  

Also, where do you guys tend to go to fly?  I don't have a TON of wide open spaces around but would still like to fly.

2016-9-20
Use props
Phantomski
Second Officer
Flight distance : 14869882 ft
United States

Talk to them. Many airports have a form on their website u can fill out, and they do not mind as long as there's a record. You may also ask them what the safe altitude is that close... I would not go much above 1200, but that's me, it also depends if you are in the approach or departure path...  Call the main number, tell them what your situation is, and ask for advice....
2016-9-20
Use props
Eazy123
lvl.2
  • >>>

Phantomski Posted at 2016-9-20 23:33
Talk to them. Many airports have a form on their website u can fill out, and they do not mind as lon ...

Thank you for your help.  I probably wouldn't go more than 200 in my area, let alone 1200 but I will contact them and see.
2016-9-20
Use props
DJI-Ken
DJI team
Flight distance : 1515312 ft
  • >>>
United States