Reaching Out for Help
795 7 2016-9-20
Uploading and Loding Picture ...(0/1)
o(^-^)o
harleymon6969
New

United States

I have been building and flying Radio Controlled Aircraft for 15 years.  My AMA (Academy of Model Aeronautics) number is 784057.  I am certified with the AMA as a Flight Instructor.  On August 30, 2016 I purchased a DJI Phantom 4 Drone for $1200.  I reviewed all manufacturer video tutorials.  I read the manual.  I registered this drone with the FAA (Registration FA3NY3HP3Y).  I completed all firmware upgrades.  I tested the unit and completely charged all batteries.  My wife and I wanted to take advantage of this units capabilities to shoot some videos of us on our boat.  Prior to our first flight, we made sure all telemetry was OK, battery levels were full, and that we had a GPS lock.  September 2, 2016 - On our first flight, we took off from the boat and had the drone follow us in "Active Track" mode.  Then I safely landed the drone back on the boat.  During this flight, my wife and I monitored all flight telemetry and video from the IPAD 4 Mini which was connected to the controller on board the boat.  All went very well.  Prior to our second flight, we insured that all telemetry was again OK.  Battery level on the controller was full and that on the drone was over 80%.  During the second flight, we again did some video in "Active Track".  All went well.  Then, while the drone was still in the air, I put the drone back in "Normal" mode and lowered it to a height about 100 ft off the water surface, and had it sit still.  We then did a few passes with the boat while the drone stood still.  Again, with my wife and I closely monitoring all flight telemetry on the IPAD.  During these passes, the telemetry alerted us that the drone went into "low battery" mode.  Immediately, we placed the boat directly underneath the drone.  After cancelling "Return to Home" and seeing on the IPAD controller screen that the drone acknowledged this command, I tried to man