Best video setting for a sunny day. No ND filter.
6834 10 2016-10-3
Uploading and Loding Picture ...(0/1)
o(^-^)o
hanskeide
lvl.2
Flight distance : 298084 ft
Mexico

As a new Phantom 3 pilot, I am still learning.

Now I am getting more into editing, and as I also have a GoPro Hero 4, I have started to take the step up from iMovie to Final Cut. Steep learning curve.

I have discovered I prefer to use 4k 24 pfs. D-log and white balance is set to 6000K. From what I can read the best shutter would be 1/50 (2 X)

But as I live in Mexico (hot and very sunny) that shutter is impossible as the shots get over exposed.
I hope eventually to get a ND filter, but to be honest the internet shops here are more limited then US and Europe.

So in the meantime, I would appreciate tips for best video settings. Of course the images get pretty good when everything is set to auto, and I try to fly only in the morning or evening when the sun is less.

But bear in mind I am planing to use the data for editing, I would like to have the settings mostly in manual, as it makes it easier later.
2016-10-3
Use props
Jkeller84
Second Officer
Flight distance : 396955 ft
  • >>>
United States

That's pretty much it. You'll need an ND.
2016-10-3
Use props
hanske
lvl.2
Mexico

Jkeller84 Posted at 2016-10-3 21:18
That's pretty much it. You'll need an ND.

Ok.
But I assume I can put everything else in manual, and let shutter be in auto? Eventually setting it very high.

Any recommendation for the style?
2016-10-3
Use props
Geebax
Captain
Australia

' I try to fly only in the morning or evening when the sun is less.'

At those times of the day, the sun is low in the sky and will quite easily get into view. So they are not a good time to fly at all. If you cannot afford an ND filter, try taking the lens out of a non-polarized pair of sunglasses and tape it on the front of the lens.
2016-10-3
Use props
Cetaman
Captain
Flight distance : 2528264 ft
  • >>>
United States

hanske Posted at 2016-10-3 16:28
Ok.