panoramic shots with Mavic Pro
22855 25 2016-10-11
Uploading and Loding Picture ...(0/1)
o(^-^)o
paul55
lvl.1
South Africa

Hi
I am totally new to this world, so please be gentle ;)
I take panoramic photographs of landscapes in Africa for a new project. Most of the times, I have to climb mountains to find the perfect location.
I use a tripod, a Nikon D800 and a 35 or 50 mm vertically (portrait) to take between 10 and 20 shots to create a hires panorama to be merged (6-8000 x 2-30000 pixels).
I am thinking to use a drone to get a similar hires final result.
Of course, I will also use the drone for shooting other photos & video ;) but the major criteria is the above.
What are my options for the drone and the camera?
Is the new Mavic Pro a good choice... for a first drone?
Paul

2016-10-11
Use props
Fulgerite
lvl.4

United States

You certainly CAN use the camera onboard the Mavic Pro to shoot 12 mega-pixel stills and stitch them together.  The lens is fairly wide.  (Similar to 28mm on a 35mm format camera.)  You should be able to use the yaw control to rotate & shoot overlapping frames for stitching.   I have done successfully with my Phantom 3.

And yes...  (In my opinion.) The Mavic is a great choice for your first drone.
2016-10-11
Use props
Danny-B-
lvl.4
Flight distance : 306640 ft
United Kingdom

Also has a portrait mode for the camera where it will spin 90degres to give you the best position for panoramas ... i'd say its the perfect drone for you... providing they ship this century
2016-10-11
Use props
Fulgerite
lvl.4

United States

Danny-B- Posted at 2016-10-11 09:57
Also has a portrait mode for the camera where it will spin 90degres to give you the best position fo ...

Yeah...  I was wondering if it actually rotates the camera or just crops the frame differently?  Hopefully it actually rotates the camera to take full advantage of the sensor.
2016-10-11
Use props
Danny-B-
lvl.4
Flight distance : 306640 ft
United Kingdom

Fulgerite Posted at 2016-10-11 18:05