12Next >
4355 55 2016-10-29
Uploading and Loding Picture ...(0/1)
o(^-^)o
szuo
lvl.1
Flight distance : 5623 ft
United States

Today I almost lost control of my Mavic Pro. I'll try to write down as much as I could remember, even though I don't know what's relevant and what's not.

I put the drone on an uneven surface, turned it on. The camera was shaky, and there was some drone error status. I didn't pay much attention. After a while, the error status was gone. I used DJI Go app to let it take off. Nothing happened. After a few tries, it took off, but was erratic. The camera view was still shaky. I felt the camera was twitching. The worse thing was that the left stick didn't work. The drone flew up and down and started turning. I admit, as a newbie, I can easily get panic, and at that time I think I should be! I used Home button. It seemed to received the command and flew lower. I can't remember how I managed to let it land but I did.

Then I blamed the uneven take-off surface. I re-calibreated IMU and compass. I restarted the drone, tried an flat and even surface this time. No error messages this time. But it got the same problem again! Left stick not working, twitching camera...

I dared to try it the third time. Turned off everything and started it. It worked. And it works afterward.

My questions. I hope someone can explain what was causing it and what I should avoid. How often and when should I calibrate IMU?
Most importantly, if I lose control of my drone again, what should I do? What's the emergency plan?

2016-10-29
Use props
DJI-Ken
DJI team
Flight distance : 1515312 ft
  • >>>

I'm sorry for your scare, what is your email and I can take a look at your flight.
Go into the flight records and sync your flights to the DJI cloud.
Had you done a compass calibration before, or an IMU calibration?
The IMU should not be calibrated unless there are error messages and telling you the IMU needs calibrating.