2811 38 2016-11-1
Uploading and Loding Picture ...(0/1)
o(^-^)o
nils_heidorn
lvl.3
Flight distance : 183537 ft

Hi !
I am new to DJI but not new to copters.
Basically i am a DIY type of guy and i love Arducopter (APM/Pixhawk).
I also helped on improving the actual code base (mostly on MegaPiratesNG)
My biggest bird is a 4kg Y6b Hexa with Gimbal & SONY NEX.
But as you maybe can see from my avatar i am also into "antiques" like the Arduspyder with Arduino Mega and DOF6 Sensors :-)

Due to lack of time i enjoy casual flying with a Parrot Bebop.
While you probably sneer at it its quite related to the Mavic: small, unobstrusive, CPU/GPU Combo instead of dedicated Flightcontroller, integrated ESC, WiFi controllable...

But what really impressed me were the safety stops built in.

When seeing the Mavic i automatically assumed (wrongly ?) that its also quite developed in terms of safety.

The Bebop does those 2 things that for me make a GREAT difference:

-1- If the angle exceeds 90 degrees all motors will stop
-2- if the motors seem blocked (== too high current) they will stop.

"stop" does not only mean switch off power but ACTIVE breaking.
And as the integrated ESC's are controlled by i2c (as opposed to "old school" PWM) that is happening VERY fast.
I even drifted to a steel pole one time and the prop hitting the pole was just dented as the breaking was so damn fast.
Also the cuts in my fingers are MUCH less deep then with my 280 racer that has about the same propulsion / Props.
(When i got too cocky with catching the bird out of air)

So, in another thread i learned that there are no such things for the Mavic, is that REALLY true ?
If so, is DJI at leat working on that ?
(Maybe as an option)

Or is it really like in the old days, if the Mavic comes down the props (or whats left of them) will continue spinning until CSC/disarm ?
(ripping flesh / valuables / whatever to shreds in the process)