Please select Into the mobile phone version | Continue to access the computer ver.
Winter flying
3791 11 2016-11-8
Uploading and Loding Picture ...(0/1)
o(^-^)o
JRodrigues
lvl.1
Flight distance : 181781 ft
Switzerland

Hello everyone,
I have some experience flying my phantom 4 during good temperatures,but haven't flown in winter time. What are your experiences regarding this situation? Temperatures are already at the 0° C here in Switzerland,and today the even dropped to -4. Has anyone had any problems with low temperatures flying?

Thanks and hope to hear from you all soon
2016-11-8
Use props
rodger
Captain
Flight distance : 20145135 ft
  • >>>
United States

In the extreme cold your batteries will not last as long so take heed to your low battery warnings. Also be aware of your camera lens fogging when removing your Phantom from the warm air into the cold air.
2016-11-8
Use props
JRodrigues
lvl.1

rodger Posted at 2016-11-8 20:25
In the extreme cold your batteries will not last as long so take heed to your low battery warnings.  ...

Yes, I know that, what I was asking is if anyone had experienced issues flying in cold weather and what they where, and how to minimize the problems that cold may cause.
  Thanks
2016-11-8
Use props
mdh222
lvl.1
Flight distance : 8652 ft
Canada

I sure hope they will be robust! Sure a 10%-15% drop in performance due to the cold WX, but then again, where I live it gets to -45 deg C (-65 w/ Windchill!!). At present, I do not have the P4 (in the market), so I'm sure I'll be updating this thread in the future.
2016-11-8
Use props
rodger
Captain
Flight distance : 20145135 ft
  • >>>
United States

JRodrigues Posted at 2016-11-8 11:15
Yes, I know that, what I was asking is if anyone had experienced issues flying in cold weather and ...

DJI offers aids for increasing your battery life in cold weather as well. I would imagine that you could have issues in extreme cold making plastic parts a bit brittles well.
2016-11-10
Use props
DJI-Jamie