Mavc remote control very poor build
2522 31 2016-11-28
Uploading and Loding Picture ...(0/1)
o(^-^)o
Sue D
New

United Kingdom

I have been lucky enough to receive my MAVIC recently and have a couple of short flights YAY!!  However went to go and fly again, dropped the controller onto very soft grass and the antennae completely snapped off..... this was not concrete... I'm a photographer so not in the business of dropping things but it was ice cold and it slipped... I am deeply concerned about how flimsy this is!!!!!!!  Has anyone else experienced this???  Taken pic with iPad and says image too big!!! Honesty I am absolutely stunned at the build quality...

Pic taken by iPhone from iPad pic as file size too big... just sent to DJI as going in for repair
2016-11-28
Use props
dana5
lvl.3
Flight distance : 14354 ft
United States

Sounds like bad luck. The controller does have some weight to it, and combined with the weight of the phone, if you were to drop it, and it landed just right, it could very well snap an antenna, but again, it would have to fall just right.

Neither the drone nor the controller are designed to be dropped, obviously. I am sorry that this happened, but in the end, it was you who dropped it. Sadly, you are the first person this has happened to. And, also the first I have heard mention the build quality of the controller.

Personally, I would like to have seen removable antennae, like on any other device with dual antennae. I do not think they really needed to be fixed, and designed so they snap together. I have seen many in unboxing videos try to spin one of the antennae the wrong way, thinking they should be symetrical, but they are not.

Anyway, hope you can get it fixed.
2016-11-28
Use props
Ulfert
lvl.2
Flight distance : 203005 ft
Germany

I'm sorry for your mishap. Imo the controller and the Mavic itself is very well build.
Have the antennas been folded out at the time of the accident?