Here's some positive feedback.
1132 8 2016-11-28
Uploading and Loding Picture ...(0/1)
o(^-^)o
rodeo
lvl.1

United States

I read a lot about lost and crashed drones here so I just though that I'd post some positive thoughts with my Mavic.

Before Mavic arrived I bought a super cheap Husban UAV to fly around and crash while I got used to UAV controls. After a bit of practice I could get the thing to go where I wanted and bring it home to land. In retrospect I'm really glad I did this because I have zero experience piloting and I got disoriented quickly when flying. When the Mavic showed up it was SUCH A BREEZE to fly compared to the non-smart drone. Mavic is so stable and forgiving. Having the POV of the video feed helps you stay oriented. I flew in beginner mode for the first two flights with no issues and even flew in 10-15mph gusts with zero issues. I still have a lot to learn about how to be smooth at the controls and how to get non-jerky camera movements out of the Mavic but even by my 4th flight I was able to get some fun shots that I felt were encouraging. If I can fly around and get footage that makes me smile after only 4 flights then the sky is the limit with this little guy.

I've been shooting at 2.7k because the bitrate is a little bit low for 4k (YMMV) and I've been really happy. If I ever want to pull stills from video I'll bump up to 4k.

The still quality from the camera is really fanstastic in relation to the size of the camera. The DNG RAW format makes me smile a ton. No more GoPro super-saturated fake skies and over compression. Mavic gives you nice clean raw files to start with if you want to grade your own photos like I do.