Please select Into the mobile phone version | Continue to access the computer ver.
Computer + Editing Program
973 16 2016-11-29
Uploading and Loding Picture ...(0/1)
o(^-^)o
N8vvood
lvl.1

United States

Hey Everyone,

I am new to DJI cameras and filmmaking in general. Looking to get some perspective on a good laptop to purchase and editing program for my Osmo Pro footage. Does anyone have any opinions on the subject?

Currently looking at a MacBook Pro and Final Cut Pro X combo, but wanted to consult the experts first.

Any help is much appreciated!

Thanks.
2016-11-29
Use props
Camera Ninja
lvl.3
United States

As long as you can view and edit your footage, it doesn't really matter what system you use. I'm editing on Premiere Pro on an iMac with an i7 processor and
32gb ram. I'm actually in process of learning FCPX, to its credit, it seems to playback and export footage faster, but I'm still not a fan. Every time I sit down for a training session, I discover something new I hate about it. This weeks issue: audio syncing and remapping.
2016-11-29
Use props
Ocean of Stars
lvl.1

United States

Thanks Camera Ninja, do you find that FCPX may be overwhelming for someone who is just starting off? I heard Premiere Pro is a great program as well. Have you found that FCPX has more features/versatility than Premiere Pro, in addition to playback and exporting footage faster?

Apologies for a million questions. Thanks again!
2016-11-29
Use props
LenMiddx
Second Officer
United Kingdom

I've been using FCP for a couple of years (first FCP 7 and then FCP X). I've used it with iMacs, so can't comment on the MacBook Pro.

FCP X is fine for a beginner. It has a lot of features -- but you don't need to use them initially. As you get more experience, and want to do more sophisticated things, you'll find that there are features in FCPX that will allow you to do them.