Please select Into the mobile phone version | Continue to access the computer ver.
GPS mode and ATTI Mode
8786 15 2016-11-30
Uploading and Loding Picture ...(0/1)
o(^-^)o
gibbd
lvl.4
Flight distance : 18980 ft
United Kingdom

Hi all,

Before I start I will say two things...

1)  I don't have my mavic yet (I'm just waiting patiently and loving reading the forums)
2)  Im a firm believer in positive comments about good experiences with the mavic, I hate seeing all the moans.  Even if some of the poor experiences and problems are good to hear about.

Ill begin...

With a number of comments I have seen about loss of GPS mid-flight even with plenty of satellites available, and the drone reverting to ATTI mode with subsequent 'loss of control' and 'Near losses'.... I wandered something....

I have ZERO experiences with drones, so I really am interested in peoples views. Don't shoot me down, please, lets keep things positive.

Obviously, mid-flight at any height above the ability of downward facing sensor and camera, the drone will have NO IDEA where it is and you will have to actually 'fly' the drone and fight the external influences such as the wind.  I'm second guessing that the 'loss of control' people experience is more to do with the shock that they no longer have the very sophisticated computer assistance to keep the drone on track.  I'm happy to be corrected.

So, what I actually wondered....   Assuming you can, would it be beneficial for people to fly the drone in ATTI mode (close proximity and in a very open space and well chosen conditions to start with) to learn how the drone behaves without GPS assisting it to stay on track/drift.  Like learning to fly a real plane without ANY automated/assisting systems.  I feel this would perhaps help a drone pilot be more prepared if something were to go wrong.  Forgive me if you think its stupid or that I am asking for suicide