Please select Into the mobile phone version | Continue to access the computer ver.
Ham Radio operators, good use for a drone
2156 7 2016-12-4
Uploading and Loding Picture ...(0/1)
o(^-^)o
fans8cf0d029
lvl.3
Flight distance : 124672 ft
United States

Being an amateur radio operator, I frequently build antennas of wire only.  These need to be suspended rather high off the ground.  I can take my Phantom 4 and drag a fishing line with a lead weight attached, over a treetop and land. The lead weight can be placed on the line to prevent contact with the props.    From this fishing line, I can then pull the heavier wire antenna over the tree as needed.  Also, it is easy to determine line of sight from your antenna site simply by flying the drone to the location of the antenna and using the camera to record the view to the target antenna.  What other uses can be thought up?
WA5TEF
2016-12-4
Use props
Hawkeye54
lvl.1

United States

Tieing a line to a drone to drape over a tree is very risky. what if the line gets tangled in a branch, You just lost your drone.
2016-12-4
Use props
fans8cf0d029
lvl.3
United States

Hawkeye54 Posted at 2016-12-4 11:07
Tieing a line to a drone to drape over a tree is very risky. what if the line gets tangled in a bran ...

Not if you fly it high enough and with enough line to clear the tree before you start to land.  Simply pay out enough line to clear the tree.
WA5TEF
2016-12-4
Use props
WA5TEF
lvl.3
United States

fans8cf0d029 Posted at 2016-12-4 09:12
Not if you fly it high enough and with enough line to clear the tree before you start to land.  Simply pay out enough line to clear the tree.
WA5TEF