DJI Phantom - Question!
555 4 2016-12-15
Uploading and Loding Picture ...(0/1)
o(^-^)o
NewFlyer
New

Pakistan

Hey Guys,

I'm a photographer; and I'm planning to buy a DJI Phanton for a new perspective in photography, and perhaps for some aerial videos too. I've never used any drone before.

I see the Phantom 1 and 2, and even 3 are more affordable now. My question is that I don't want the camera to be built in. I remember the initial phantom came with just a space to put the go pro.

Hence, which Phantoms have the options of letting me put my own go pro? And does the Phantom 3 just have a built in camera that is not removable? I would prefer the option to put a go-pro, as then I can remove it from the drone and use it for other things as well.

Thanks in advance!
2016-12-15
Use props
Hoomi
lvl.4
Flight distance : 231394 ft
United States

The Phantom 3 has an integrated camera on a gimbal. Personally, I like it better than the GoPro cameras I have used, but part of that is the GoPro is fixed as a wide-angle lens, giving a bit of a fish-eye effect. I find the video from my Phantom camera doesn't have that curving distortion towards the edges that a GoPro does.

The flipside of that is, as you stated, the camera cannot be easily removed and used separately.