How to avoid this HDR-like effect?
1078 4 2016-12-23
Uploading and Loding Picture ...(0/1)
o(^-^)o
Vincent T
lvl.1

France

Hi,

On several pictures I get really poor quality and HDR-like look.
Any idea what I am setting wrongly ?
It looks to me that it happens when under exposed, the software try to highlight shadows and therefore provoke a hdr like pattern.
Is there a way to remove the auto highlight/shadow compensation ?

Thanks for your help

DJI_0198 [1600x1200].JPG

DJI_0280 [1600x1200].JPG
2016-12-23
Use props
No1much
lvl.4
Flight distance : 143878 ft
United States

Not sure, as a beginner myself, but if you can help it, I discovered yesterday that bracketing shots (3 to 5) will at least give you 3 shots for the price of one (one at -0.7 EV, one at 0 EV, one at +0.7) so you can see a little bit of what exposure bias makes for a better photo in each situation. I'm using this feature for learning, myself.
Also, I find that when taking pictures of sky when the ground is not your main focus, EV of -0.7 or so better saturates the sky's colors and details at the expense of darkening the ground to the point of it almost being a silhouette. If photographing ground mainly, 0 EV may wash out the sky but keep details of the ground.

I'm not sure if there's a good way to get both ground and sky in good detail in the same photo, but if all else fails, I hear you can use some computer programs to merge your 3 or 5 shot bracketing into one photo, using the pictures with best ground visibility for ground and best sky visibility for the sky. ..If it helps, I'm always setting auto-exposure to on, then dialing in the EV as a base, then taking a couple different bracketed sets at slightly different  EVs. ISO as low as possible, of course.
Those photos are beautiful. That sky looks similar to one where -0.7 EV helped me bring out its details more... you seem to have the ground in excellent detail in both.