Altitude affecting flight time
3370 17 2016-12-26
Uploading and Loding Picture ...(0/1)
o(^-^)o
zolima
lvl.1

Austria

Hi,
I am quite new to DJI products as I just got my Mavic. This thing is very easy to fly and it is easy to capture some good footage.
My first project was shooting a music video. The location we chose was at an altitude of about 2.200 meters (7,200 feet). I was able to collect quite some video with my three batteries, but I wasn't able to get the full 25 minutes out of every battery. What I got was close to 15 minutes.
Does anyone know if altitude affects flight time?

If anyone is interrested, the video i took:

2016-12-26
Use props
Brutus
lvl.2
Flight distance : 124304 ft
Netherlands

What a beautiful movie! Love your filming style! Guess this wasn't your first movie? Regarding flying on high altitude: the only 2 things I can come up with are less air density, so the props need to spin at a higher speed to create the same amount of lift. Second thing might be the temperature, although it doesn't look to cold.
2016-12-26
Use props
DJI-Ken
DJI team
Flight distance : 1515312 ft
  • >>>
United States

Nice video, indeed it's the high altitude (thinner air density) that reduces flight time.
The advertised flight times specs are done at sea level.
2016-12-26
Use props
zolima
lvl.1

Austria

Brutus Posted at 2016-12-27 00:43
What a beautiful movie! Love your filming style! Guess this wasn't your first movie? Regarding flying on high altitude: the only 2 things I can come up with are less air density, so the props need to spin at a higher speed to create the same amount of lift. Second thing might be the temperature, although it doesn't look to cold.