First Crash, and I Blame...
2510 33 2016-12-30
Uploading and Loding Picture ...(0/1)
o(^-^)o
BuzzCut
lvl.4

United States

Me!

It was cold this morning, so I employed the Mavic as a sheep dog to herd my puppy back into the house from the yard.  It actually worked.

Now the crash... I was trying to back up the Mavic onto the top step by my patio door.  I've done this before very successfully, but there's minimal room for error and it's unnecessary risk.  So, I caught a gust of wind and the Mavic moved back 6 inches and hit the door.  Two damaged props and no more than the tiniest nick in the plastic on one of the rear legs.

3 mins later and I'm back flying.  This thing is amazing!  Tough as old boots, and now I find out it can herd dogs too.  I'm a newbie to this and I've never crashed before so I appreciate how the blades break apart vs. putting unnecessary stress on the motor or body.  Very cool!

I'd love to blame the wind, or the GPS function, or the VPS function, or something else that was outside of my control... but it was my control that was to blame.  Thanks to the Mavic's design I'm still up and running.
Crash_Props.jpg
Crash_Steps.gif
2016-12-30
Use props
DJI-Ken
DJI team
Flight distance : 1515312 ft
  • >>>
United States

Sorry for your crash, but thank you very much for acknowledging it and placing blame on yourself.
Make sure to discard any prop that even has the smallest nick as there can be internal damage to it.
2016-12-30
Use props
BuzzCut
lvl.4

United States

Thanks, Ken.  Good point!  I'll check the fronts, but I think they're damage-free.

Love that this can be used for household chores.  No idea how this clip will upload from my iPhone with compression (probably badly) but here goes.  Bear in mind this wasn't meant to be a cinematic masterpiece... just FPV dog herding.
2016-12-30
Use props
tivoboy
lvl.2
Flight distance : 9984 ft
United States