Please select Into the mobile phone version | Continue to access the computer ver.
Drone wouldn't fly over 16 ft.
8319 12 2017-1-2
Uploading and Loding Picture ...(0/1)
o(^-^)o
too fly
lvl.1

United States

Hi,
I'm new to all of this, so hang with me.  

I was out at a waterfall hike shooting today, and my Mavic Pro wouldn't climb over 16 ft.  I have a few theories but I'd like your opinions.

My best working theory is that I have my max drone height at 120 meters.  I was in a deep canyon and sattelite reception was poor, as was cell reception.  

The last point I had the Mavic turned on was at home, at a lower altitude.  If the Mavic couldn't update it's GPS location, and the last known altitude was a few hundred feet lower, is it possible the app retained the previous altitude as its starting altitude and wouldn't allow me to exceed my max height based on the old location where the gps signal was good?

Another theory is that it was having some sort of obstacle avoidance malfunction.  I read in the manual that 16 ft is a default height if the drone senses an object in front of the craft.  Where I took off, there were boulders in front of the drone, but enough space to take off cleanly.  

I landed and reset everything and put the drone up a 2nd time and I had the same problem.  Any ideas what could have been going on?

Thanks
2017-1-2
Use props
Dronoob
Second Officer
Flight distance : 126079 ft
Germany

Theory one will be confirmed in the app that tells you, that you have reached the max altitude. If you did not get that message, well, then your theory #1 is wrong.
2017-1-2
Use props
rnrnrn
Second Officer
Flight distance : 430932 ft
Germany

How was your GPS reception in the canyon? Can you upload your logs to healthy drones and provide a link? This would tell us much more than explanations ever can.
2017-1-2
Use props
MikeQView
Second Officer
United Kingdom