Newbie - What Drone?
1131 13 2017-1-8
Uploading and Loding Picture ...(0/1)
o(^-^)o
stitch-up
New

United Kingdom

Good morning all from a very sunny but cols South Wales.

This is my first post to the forum as a complete newbie at the age of 64!

I was given a quadcopter for Christmas It's not an expensive one with any bells and whistles but fun nonetheless. It's certainly stirred my interest in drones.

I've come to this forum as DJI seem to be leading the way in drone technology and I'm seeking some advice on what drone I should consider to achieve one of the fun projects I'd like to complete.

I've been a fan of cars for sometime and until a few years ago used to own an Arial Atom. I used to take my Atom to a local circuit and participate in track days - not racing but having some fun pushing the limits of my fear The circuit is just 1 mile around so not big and can take 2 or 3 minutes to complete.

What I'd like to do with any drone I purchase is to produce video of particular cars doing a few circuits. I've previuosly been a photographer at the circuit and produced some good prints which car owners purchased. My thoughts are that if I could produce some good quality videos I could sell these too. Video quality is important. I will of course be using the drone for fun too.

This is the circuit as shown on Google Maps
Llandow Circuit

So, based on the above, what drone should I buy keeping in mind that I'm a newbie but also a quick learner

I know I could spend many thousands on a drone but would prefer to keep the cost down.

Looking forward to any advice.

Many thanks.

John

2017-1-8
Use props
Chriscycling
lvl.3
United Kingdom

Hi John - welcome to the forum. I'm sure there will be lots of good advice coming but here's my advice based on my short but intensive drone ownership.
I started with a Phantom 2 to get used to flying before moving my way up through the Phantom 3 range to my current Phantom 4. Advice as follows