Can you fly I2 with just 1 battery attached?
4175 9 2017-1-23
Uploading and Loding Picture ...(0/1)
o(^-^)o
Sky2PIC
lvl.1
Flight distance : 3054869 ft
United States

I am an Inspire 1 Pro owner that is looking to possibly invest in an I2.  Can you fly the I2/X5S with just one battery attached to the aircraft?  Does the aircraft/gimbal remain stable and balanced with only one battery?  I'm interested to know if its possible.
2017-1-23
Use props
BrianDavis
lvl.1
Flight distance : 394528 ft
United States

Hi Sky2PIC,

I just tested mine. If you put a battery into the left slot only, the Inspire 2 won't power on. If you put a battery into the right slot only, it will power on, but when you connect your controller to it and open the DJI go 4 app, you get a warning to insert more batteries. You can exit this warning and still take off. I'm assuming you'd only get about 5 minutes of flight time, but yes, you can fly with only one battery inserted into the right slot. Mine flew fine while both recording video and pictures with the X5S camera (I have another issue the X5S camera that I've posted to this forum) until the battery went below 40%. At this point the voltage from just the single battery was too low to maintain operation and the Inspire 2 self landed. Mind you, I was only flying it 3-4 feet above the grass in my front yard for this test. I'd definitely recommend always using two batteries for the Inspire 2. I've purchased 8 which gives me around 70 minutes of usable flight time without recharging. With recharging, I can cycle through them all day with minimal downtime. Hope this is helpful.

Hope this helps.
2017-1-23
Use props
fans413ab842
lvl.3
Flight distance : 61860 ft
  • >>>
United States

BrianDavis Posted at 2017-1-23 13:46
Hi Sky2PIC,