Awesome Test with Range and Failsafe
985 11 2017-1-25
Uploading and Loding Picture ...(0/1)
o(^-^)o
BashP4P+
lvl.2

United Kingdom

Im a complete noob with drones. Just for reference its a phantom 4 pro plus with the inbuilt screen. Continuation of some positive posting/experience of my now 3rd flight.

Last week I flew it and tested a RTH and it worked perfect. Did exactly what it should and returned home. Absolutely sweet. That was pressing the RTH button and or the on screen icon.

Today i had a go at atti mode. Maybe not a good idea to have tested it today as the winds were reporting according to google here in the UK in my town 16mph. I read somewhere from Labroides (apologies if spelt wrong) that 13mph is pretty eaay for the phantom and it could handle more than that. Based on that i continued. His her posts seems pretty clued up.

Up about 3/4 metres and the wind was pushing the AC and making it tilt.

Switched over to atti mode and had a real feel of the wind drifting the AC. It took a little practice to use the sticks to steer it into the wind and move it around. After reading so much i can appreciate if not read up well and watched tons of hours of tutorials. You very easily can lose an AC if gps lost or pannick mode if it kicks into atti. That went pretty good for my first attempt. Or at least i felt GREAT. Thats what its all about.

2nd test was the range. I was curious as im reading other members posting less than half mile and losing signal or video etc.  Before i attempted to try this i thought id try and test failsafe mode. I built up the courage to switch off power off my RC and see what happens. It worked perfect. After a few seconds it ascended and was on its route back to me. I switched RC back on and successfuly cancelled the RTH and took control.