Please select Into the mobile phone version | Continue to access the computer ver.
AEB Testing
8018 16 2017-2-8
Uploading and Loding Picture ...(0/1)
o(^-^)o
Hefro

United States

I'm a new pilot and still just learning about the Mavic and aerial photography, but I am an experienced landscape photographer. I have been trying to get a feel for the true capabilities of the Mavic's camera for shooting high dynamic range scenes such as sunset and sunrise. Last night I put the Mavic up to grab a couple of sunset shots to test out the AEB settings. I set the camera to shoot AEB 5 shots in RAW with white balance set to Cloudy. I left the exposure adjustment set to 0 (EV 0). Here's the series of shots captured by the Mavic:

Shot  Shutter  ISO  deltaEV
1        1/30    164     0.00
2        1/30    104    -0.66
3        1/30    259     0.66
4        1/60    132    -1.31
5        1/15    204     1.31

I had previously noticed that the Mavic changed the ISO rather than adjusting shutter speed only. While most photographers would likely prefer the camera to not adjust ISO, I suppose it makes sense to limit the longest shutter speed for shot stability. It's also interesting that while the setting shows 0.7 EV increments between shots, the increment is really only 2/3 EV.

I attached the base exposure (1/30s, ISO 164) and an HDR composite of all 5 images. Surprisingly, the HDR cleans up really wells with some liberal application of noise reduction in Lightroom (I saw far less noise in the composite than in the individual images), and the HDR image definitely has more shadow and highlight detail. (I had the gimbal cover on, so there are some reflections. Also, I was not in a very pretty location for this shoot!)