What do all the radio parts do and how do they work together?
1130 8 2017-2-13
Uploading and Loding Picture ...(0/1)
o(^-^)o
RobOnSamui
lvl.1

Thailand

Newbie here - been sucked into this for just 2 weeks now and oh boy is the learning curve steep!
(So please cut me some slack when I sound stupid . . . )

BTW I've got the Vision Plus with the version 2 controller (no scroll wheel).

I know I need some andswers here - because I had a dream last night that was like something out of the Hunger Games. There were 10 assorted people in the jungle and they were given a smartphone each with the Vision app running on it. They had to use it to figure out where the drones were, and nobody could do it. This tells me that my brain needs to grasp some of the basic things about how all the different parts of the process talk to each other, and what data they are exchanging.

So there are 2 radio systems, right? One at 8.5Ghz which carries all the control info and the other one at 2.4Ghz which talks to the smartphone app and links to the drone also. What else does this frequeny handle? Do these 2 system run independently or sort of piggyback onto each other? Can anyone tell me what each frequency is for?

And I'm thinking from what I've read that both the drone and  the controller do this in both directions, send and receive?

Does the controller have 2 radio modules inside - one for 8.5Ghz and another one for 2.4Ghz? It must do . . . ?

How does the range extender fit into all this? Does it only work along with with GPRS and the smartphone? It's a wireless connection - so what is it actually connected to? (Obviously the drone at he other end . . . )

There are two internal antennae inside the controller (as well as  the external omni stick antenna). What are these 2 wire antennae for?

There are two wire antennae running down the drone's legs - what's  being received/sent(?) by these?

Is there a GPS receiver in the controller as well as the drone?