GPS Locator
1160 17 2017-2-17
Uploading and Loding Picture ...(0/1)
o(^-^)o
Dehatter
New

United States

I was wondering what you guys thought of this Ping locator (click here) coming out this summer, and how it compares to more traditional locating.  With the demise of 2G and cost of these suckers, is this a viable option?  I especially like it being waterproof, 3 month battery, and 25g, but is is not a 'tracker'  just a 3G locator.  Is that a big deal?   Sorry, I am a new pilot and want to get the best I can afford.     Thanks in advance for your coments!

2017-2-17
Use props
Geebax
First Officer
Australia

Those devices use Bluetooth, so they are not much use in finding a drone. They are intended for things lost in an urban environment, and do not have much of a range. You would be better off with a more conventional tracker, do a search on here, there are a number of threads about them.

One other point, to the best of my knowledge, no-one has come on this forum and said they lost their drone and found it using a tracker.

2017-2-17
Use props
Dehatter
New

United States

Geebax Posted at 2017-2-17 15:31
Those devices use Bluetooth, so they are not much use in finding a drone. They are intended for things lost in an urban environment, and do not have much of a range. You would be better off with a more conventional tracker, do a search on here, there are a number of threads about them.

One other point, to the best of my knowledge, no-one has come on this forum and said they lost their drone and found it using a tracker.

This uses bluetooth AND cellular.....Global range.
2017-2-17
Use props
Geebax
First Officer
Australia

Dehatter Posted at 2017-2-17 15:34
This uses bluetooth AND cellular.....Global range.