1786 10 2017-2-17
Uploading and Loding Picture ...(0/1)
o(^-^)o
Gateway
lvl.4
Flight distance : 1873806 ft
  • >>>
United States

So, I have had my mavic for 2 weeks now but havnt had much time to fly it because of the rain and snow we are getting here in Lake Tahoe California.

I have been flying DJI products since the Phantom 1 and own a few Phantom 2's, 2 P4's, Inispire 1 and now the Mavic (going to be used for hiking, mountain biking, snowboarding etc).

Usually when I get a new product I do a bunch of research on the camera which is a Sony IMX377 for the Mavic.  Then I spend quite a bit of time online doing research and watching various videos where people have already found settings they like for the camera.

After seeing some issues arise with whats being coined "Water Color Look" I'm trying to figure out now what starting settings I should try with the Mavic.  Note Im a professional Photographer so I know a few thigns about cameras but again with a new product its always trail and error and until I can get up in teh air I wanted to see what the main consensus is right now for style, and color.

Im seeing various settings for the following:

Style - Custom
-3 , -3 , -3
-2 , -2 , -2
-1, 0 , 0
etc. (im sure many of you reading this know what im talking about depending on what blog or video you watch.)

In the past for Color space I have always used Dlog which allows me to play around bit more with saturation, darks, midtones and highlights.  I have not used D-Cinelike yet but am hearing that people suggest this or the None color space. Anyone have any thoughts, and of course with the style settings above you can get a bit crazy and how much you work you want to do in post to bring back the colors or the look and feel you like.

Lastly I never shoot in auto white balance because depending on what teh camera sensor sees when moving around you can get various looking results (just my thoughts on that).