Please select Into the mobile phone version | Continue to access the computer ver.
Need P4 camera specs for photogrammetric calculations
9170 17 2017-2-17
Uploading and Loding Picture ...(0/1)
o(^-^)o
JBinFla
lvl.1
United States

Hello,
I'm a Geomatics student working on a paper for my senior project.  I purchased the Phantom 4 to use in my evaluation of the horizontal precision in orthorectified geoTIFFs using consumer hardware and software.  To do this will require a lot of computations on the photos that I get.  Most of these computations need accurate data for items like sensor size (both physical and pixel count), focal length, lens parameters, etc.  Much is posted on the website but some things I'm a bit confused with.  

For instance, photo size is 4000x3000 pixels.  That makes 12mp, but it's listed at effective 12.4mp. Are the actual pixel dimensions more thant 4000x3000?  Of course if they are more, then all my calculations will be inherently flawed.

Additionally, the focal length is listed at 20mm (35mm equivalent). Can anyone explain this? Is anyone in the know enough to know what value I should use?  The difference is large enough that I should be able to calculate which one is correct, but again having accurate specifications is paramount to accurate results.

Thanks for any info you may have.

- Joe

2017-2-17
Use props
Nigelbrinkmann
First Officer
Flight distance : 586391 ft
Australia

Hi, mmm..well you lost me when you said 'orthorectified geoTIFFs'!
Is this to do with digital elevation?  
Some one a lot smarter than me might be able to answer this for you.
2017-2-17
Use props
Jasonstarbird
lvl.3
Flight distance : 116998 ft
United States

Google can help you...
2017-2-17
Use props
WindSoul
lvl.4
Flight distance : 16 ft
Canada