How Do I Hunt Down a Lost Mavic?
6103 12 2017-2-24
Uploading and Loding Picture ...(0/1)
o(^-^)o
FlossBandit
lvl.2
Flight distance : 1334285 ft
United States

First thing's first. I'm new to this. I watched several (probably 60+) hours of YouTube videos before my Mavic came in on what to do and how it works. I've read the manual and all documentation a few times and have Googled my question before posting.

Yesterday I got stuck in a tree about 30-50m from me about 15ft off the ground. I instantly killed the motors with a CSC but was surpristed at how hard the drone was to find using the app (given it was only a short distance from me). I guess I could have been so close to the drone that there was little movement on the map but still am not sure.

Anyway, it was concerning... because I don't know what I would have done if I'd gone down 3-400m away.

Luckily I recovered the Mavic by knocking it out of the tree. I see absolutely no signs of damage and I 100% totatlly convinced the only reason I didn't destroy the camera and gimbal was because of a plastic molded sun shade I bought on ebay for under $4. It had just come in an hour before the flight and I was trying it out for the first time.

Lesson learnerd: Don't do U-turns when flying close to trees... It's probably best to stop, hover, and adjust the yaw. I thought I was 10-15ft away from anything but the sun was bright and junk like this just happens time to time.

So my question: What do I have to do in order to find a lost Mavic withing the GO app?

Possible solution: In the event of a crash, is it as simple as adjusting the homepoint to 'me' rather than a location and walking towards the drone? I haven't had the opportuninty to try it but it seems like you could keep moving until the dots were on top of each other.

Thanks
2017-2-24
Use props
DragonFlyAerial
lvl.2
Flight distance : 658383 ft
United States