1054 12 2017-3-6
Uploading and Loding Picture ...(0/1)
o(^-^)o
PaulL
lvl.2
Flight distance : 23898 ft
United States

Braintrust,

I am a photographer, and as such my clients pay for and expect timely results. I shoot stills and video, and for each of those applications I have back-ups in case of camera/mechanical failure. Yes overkill, but it has happened to me more than once.

Do any of you guys carry a spare bird? I am thinking of getting a P4 pro and using the P4 as a back up. I already have plenty of batteries. I know I would have to synch my remote to the new bird. I am guessing the old P4 remote would work with the P4 Pro? I have not heard of one issue where the remote failed. I have heard of numerous fly aways though. And if it was to happen to me, I would like to have the peace of mind that I could still finish the shoot.

1. Will the P4 remote control the P4 Pro.
2. Where does one purchase ONLY the P4 pro, with no accessories?

Thanks for your time, I really do appreciate this forum and the people who participate.

Paul
2017-3-6
Use props
Punchbuggy
First Officer
Flight distance : 483166 ft
  • >>>
Australia

Paul, no. The P4P controller is dual band, whereas the P4 controller isn't. I can tell you for a fact that the P4 controller will not sync with a P4P (I accidentally got them mixed up one day and spent a fruitless hour trying to work out what the issue was until I realised). However, I will admit to not trying the other way around.

Otherwise you're really just talking battery and props - and you'll need both (even if you could separate, which you can't). And the battery you'll get with the P4P is a high-capacity one too.

So, I have both the P4 and a P4P now. It's very handy to have both (and my girlfriend is getting into it now too...)

2017-3-6
Use props
PaulL
lvl.2
Flight distance : 23898 ft
United States