12Next >
13047 49 2017-3-8
Uploading and Loding Picture ...(0/1)
o(^-^)o
Silverado101980
lvl.2
Flight distance : 5858166 ft
United States

So when I first flew the Mavic the RC at times with wind would show higher than the advertised 40mph I've seen upwards of 50 before. But the other day after the most recent update I was flying in some good wind that might scare some people. I noticed that with my est. 25 mph tail wind it would not break 40 mph in sport mode and also the RPM indicator was way down as if only running hard enough to keep elevation have they changed programming to have GPS speed limits ?
2017-3-8
Use props
garnets88
lvl.2
Flight distance : 286611 ft
United States

Yep, looks like they definitely did something with the speed. Its barely touching 40mph.
2017-3-8
Use props
b33
lvl.2
Spain

why dji would do this?
2017-3-8
Use props
Matt-and-Riley
Second Officer
Flight distance : 324442 ft
United Kingdom

I've been watching youtube so I'm an expert now - it could be that if you push motors too hard you can burn out speed controllers when they draw to much current. I could be completely wrong but it sounds right. Limit the speed to protect other components.
2017-3-8
Use props
Silverado101980
lvl.2
United States

You might have a good point to that and makes sense on the previous firmware having both sticks forward in sport I would get the battery error a few times above 95%.. with the current firmware I don't receive the error but. with that said I don't think the Mavic fly away as hard as it did before.  My cousin has a Phantom 4 Pro Plus he has never updated the firmware and says he won't he's worried about loosing speed since his will fly about 65 mph to 70mph in sport mode and we have tested flying beside the pickup we were in it really does fly 65 mph. no joke
2017-3-8
Use props
4wd
Second Officer
Flight distance : 545817 ft
  • >>>
United Kingdom