Advice before it happens..
1354 23 2017-3-16
Uploading and Loding Picture ...(0/1)
o(^-^)o
R1Mavic
lvl.1
United States

Hello - I am a beginner pilot.  I've had my Mavic less than a week and have been flying it around my neighborhood no further away than I can see it.  I'm still timid and don't want to crash it.  I have been reading a lot of crash posts on here to make sure I don't make those same mistakes.  However, there have been so many posts about the Mavic going into ATTI mode and just flying away.  Upon disconnection from the Mavic or ATTI mode just happens...what should I do?
2017-3-16
Use props
Ttony1976
lvl.2
Flight distance : 791562 ft
United Kingdom

Make sure you set your home point every time before flying away, That way if connection is lost the drone will return to the home point.
2017-3-16
Use props
R1Mavic
lvl.1
United States

Ttony1976 Posted at 2017-3-16 06:50
Make sure you set your home point every time before flying away, That way if connection is lost the drone will return to the home point.

What about ATTI mode on its own?
2017-3-16
Use props
fansc2962bbc
lvl.4
Flight distance : 29452 ft
Norway

ATTI mode should be manageable for the pilot.  The Mavic will be more unstable and might drift  some depending on wind conditions. You have to undertand the stick input and how the AC reacts  But some cases has been reported when the ACand RC lose conneciton. Thats a completly different ballgame. When tha Mavic dont have connection with the RC it shold RTH. But thats not always the case.
2017-3-16
Use props
DJI-Ken
DJI team
Flight distance : 1515312 ft
  • >>>
United States

The Mavic doesn't just fly away when it goes into ATTI mode, it will drift with the wind.
And since you are a beginner I would not be flying in your neighborhood. You should be in a large open area.
And if there ever is a RC disconnection it doesn't go into ATTI mode, it will go into RTH mode and you must make sure your RTH settings are set to your flight environment.