Please select Into the mobile phone version | Continue to access the computer ver.
Side obstacle avoidance error causes crash
1972 33 2017-3-29
Uploading and Loding Picture ...(0/1)
o(^-^)o
dcobb23.me
lvl.1
Flight distance : 633386 ft
  • >>>
United States

I'm a pilot with 5 years experience. Obstacle avoidance is something new in my world, so I tested the system and found that the side radar causes the drone to stop and not respond to input. I had to go over and literally grab the drone to move it away from the test fence. So for most situations I have it turned off. However, this flight I was flying around paddleboarders and boats so I wanted to be safe. However, taking off on a boat, there was a cable 2' to the left of my flight path. As the drone passed the cable it stopped moving, started beeping and stopped responding to all input. I never would have thought a 1/4" cable would even register with the radar. Before I could figure out what was happening a  gust of wind blew the drone into the cable, it fell (luckily on the dry side of the boat) 4-5' and broke the camera mount. Now I'm getting a bill from repair that says I owe $328 to fix this.

Has anyone else had this problem? Does this seem like a design error? Do you think this should be a warranty repair?
2017-3-29
Use props
Brian Fist
lvl.4
Flight distance : 19928 ft
United States

I have never had it just "stop dead" because it "saw" something in OA.  Now if I was moving left and something was on the left side and it saw it, it would stop going in the direction of the obstacle.  But if I was moving parallel to the object and it saw it it wouldn't stop the bird from moving forward.
2017-3-29
Use props
Brian Fist
lvl.4
Flight distance : 19928 ft
United States