P4P Lost GPS and drifted
1035 12 2017-4-10
Uploading and Loding Picture ...(0/1)
o(^-^)o
thatguy
lvl.2
Flight distance : 120509 ft
United States

No harm done here, but I had my bird flying directly across and away from me, I stopped, oriented it left to fly in that direction then it lost connection with GPS (I had had an 18 sat connection) The drone suddenly drifted, but more accurately it started moving very quickly backwards without any orders from the sticks. Now I thought it might have been RTH being triggered, but it was going in a completely new direction and luckily it reconnected with the 18 sats and I was able to regain control. I know you probably want my flight logs, and I am new to that, but has this occured with anyone else while flying?

2017-4-10
Use props
QiiFlight
Second Officer
Flight distance : 2999472 ft
  • >>>
United States

When you lost GPS, the aircraft likely went into ATTI mode. In this mode, only vertical stabilization is provided through the onboard barometer. So with no horizontal stabilization, the aircraft drifted with  the wind and any turbulence caused by the aircraft itself.
2017-4-10
Use props
thatguy
lvl.2
United States

QiiFlight Posted at 2017-4-10 11:53
When you lost GPS, the aircraft likely went into ATTI mode. In this mode, only vertical stabilization is provided through the onboard barometer. So with no horizontal stabilization, the aircraft drifted with  the wind and any turbulence caused by the aircraft itself.

Thanks for the insight. I didn't realize that you get no horizontal stab. in ATTI..
2017-4-10
Use props
betonven
lvl.2
United States