Complete Loss Inspire 2
3168 36 2017-4-15
Uploading and Loding Picture ...(0/1)
o(^-^)o
JeffP
lvl.3
United States

Hello,  Today I lost my Inspire 2 with X4S.  Some background. I do not complain on forums and this will be my first not so positive post.  I have about 5 years of experience with UAV's, I fly 3d helis as my main hobby, and 1/4 scale gas planes.  Just some background, I am not new to the hobby.  I was not recording the flight but here is excatly what happened.  I came back from vacation yesterday and notied the 240 had an update to 330 firmware.  I updated my Inspire2 using the Assistant as always, did not see an update for the radio. Update went well.  i checked all my settings and made sure I was back to where I was.  

First flight:

Flew Inspire about 500 meters out and was loitering for a bit, calm winds. I then tested RTH and noticed my ipad immediately said "lowering landing gear" and I lost signal.  It said "lowering landing gear" immeditaley after I hit RTH.  This should occur before final decent not on its way back.  Then, I regained signal and the Inspire flew back and landed within 3 feet of takeoff point.

Second flight on 330 which resulted in a complete loss

I flew out about 400 meters out at 110meters altitude using 5.8 as I always do because 2.4 is not good for my area.  Tested RTH again, once again "Aircraft disconnected"  I noticed that it had automatically switched to 2.4 and it said lowering landing gear right as I hit RTH again. Then I changed immediately back to 5.8, nothing (still disconnected)......