Please select Into the mobile phone version | Continue to access the computer ver.
New USA FAA Facility Maps
1098 4 2017-4-28
Uploading and Loding Picture ...(0/1)
o(^-^)o
Fontinalis
lvl.4
Flight distance : 975367 ft
United States

Hi All,

Here is theFAA press release from 27-Apr-17.

I won't try to summarize, other than they have mapped what appears to be mostly Class E airspace around smaller airports. Interestingly, a local area I thought was Class G is actually Class E down to 400' AGL. I understand that i can only fly under this space with FAA authorization. I do real estate aerials and may get a request to fly in this airspace. The turnaround for authorizations, as I understand, can be up to 90 days, which doesn't work in the real estate market, so I applied for a waiver.

Has anyone else looked at the maps and experienced similiar?

I've never tried to fly in this area, so don't know if the geofencing in the Go 4 app would have notified me.

Another question. I'm new to this world. Is there a more suitable forum for drone related FAA discussions? Perhaps the DJI forum is too global and more product focused.

Thanks,

Don

2017-4-28
Use props
dronist
Second Officer
  • >>>
United States

Your FAA neighborhood forum is the best forum to ask them the questions.. Get it from the Lion's mouth...

2017-4-28
Use props
Fontinalis
lvl.4
United States

dronist Posted at 2017-4-28 10:05
Your FAA neighborhood forum is the best forum to ask them the questions.. Get it form the Lion's mouth...

Thanks dronist. I couldn't google up any FAA forums so I sent an email to uashelp@faa.gov. If I get a response I'll post it here.
2017-5-1
Use props
Fontinalis
lvl.4
United States