Please select Into the mobile phone version | Continue to access the computer ver.
Post production
2960 11 2015-3-5
Uploading and Loding Picture ...(0/1)
o(^-^)o
piotr.pawlowski
lvl.1

Poland

OK, I have raw material now to start making my first movie. I did convert some raw material using the Transcoding tool (I'm Mac user) and ... the output is 5x larger than original raw footage from DJI camera. Is it normal? I'm new to video editing (I'm photo hobbyist for 14 years), so all the software is new to me as well. Any tips for colour settings. So far using automatic correction settings, but they don't look realistic to me. Below is example:

On the left trascoded video with Automatic balance, on the right raw footage:

Can you share a good webpage with tips for video editing (Final Cut X).

Many thanks and regards

Piotr

2015-3-5
Use props
scooterlam
Second Officer
Flight distance : 4626 ft
United States

Heres my workflow.

Load card onto Mac
Transfer original .mov files to raided external thunderbolt drive
Open NLE of choice
Import files wherever they reside on your external
Edit native files if you have the graphics card to support it OR learn to work with proxies if using FCPx or reduce the resolution in Premier for smooth playback without dropping frames.

Tip lay down your first clip, lay down music to first clip. Time music with markers for transition cues. Rough cut entire movie first. Go back add transitions, Color correct + grade last. Final render. Go with the grain =)
2015-3-5
Use props
wolftj
lvl.4
Flight distance : 109734 ft
United States

scooterlam - do you use the transcoding tool or not? I just ran my first file through it and was really surprised how much better it looked afterwards without any other processing.
2015-3-5
Use props
jimhare
Captain
Flight distance : 239035 ft
Australia

wolftj@mindspri Posted at 2015-3-6 09:32
scooterlam - do you use the transcoding tool or not? I just ran my first file through it and was rea ...