Uploading and Loding Picture ...(0/1)
o(^-^)o
Xavier1984
Second Officer
Flight distance : 1634843 ft
  • >>>
Switzerland

Hi all !

I would like to try to use D-Log mode with my Phantom 4 Pro drone. I'm relatively new in the video-world (but experimented in photography-world).

I understand that if i record video in D-Log mode, the render will be "flat" and i need to use a LUT to add a first stage of color correction and after i can adjut my colorimetry / color grading.

- Firstly is there a LUT for the DJI Phantom 4 Pro available ? If yes, where i can find it :-)

- If i use D-Log mode, i see that the ISO is fixed to 500. Is the white balance setting impact the D-log mode ? I mean D-Log is like a RAW footage, so if i change the white balance to AWB or sunny, it is a modification on the footage ?

- How D-Log mode impact when i shoot photography in RAW ? Is there an impact of the picture or not ?

- I'm on Windows and i use Adobe Premiere CC to edit my video. If someone could explain me quickly the good workflow to use the D-Log mode (or have a a tutorial/video) it will be helpful.

Thank you in advance :-)
2017-5-9
Use props
Capo
lvl.2
Flight distance : 178196 ft
United States

The best thing to do is search on Youtube. Hard to explain it in print. There are many good tutorials there. One thing I notice though is that in many videos the LUT is placed at the end of the workflow and adjustments are inserted between the LUT and the D-log footage. I believe the reason for this is that in D-Log format, you have access to the entire dynamic range for editing without causing blowouts in hilights or shadows prior to the LUT.
2017-5-9
Use props
Xavier1984
Second Officer
  • >>>
Switzerland

Hi, thanks for your answer. It make sense effectively. There are a plenty of info, but i'ts quite complex to find clear and good info.
Firstly i need to find a correct and good LUT xD
2017-5-9
Use props
samuraiz
lvl.3
Flight distance : 202585 ft
United States