Computer Specs for 4k editing?
3291 5 2017-5-9
Uploading and Loding Picture ...(0/1)
o(^-^)o
fans426e3c06
New

United States

Hello!

I want to get into video editing (Adobe Premiere CC) and am only doing this as a hobby, so I don't need top tier spec/equipment. I plan to make drone videos (DJI Mavic Pro & DJI Osmo gimbal) in 4k resolution and want to post them on youtube. I am a complete newbie when it comes to computers, but would like to build my own PC; my price cutoff is $2000 for a custom built desktop + good ~20" monitor (again, I'm only a hobbyist so I don't need the best or a 4k monitor)

1) Where do I even start when it comes to building my own computer? Is it pretty easy for anyone to build one?
2) What specs/parts do I need to run Adobe Premiere & edit 4k footage?
3) What's a good monitor thats around 20" that provides me sharp & accurate colors  (doesn't have to be 4k resolution)?

Thanks!!

2017-5-9
Use props
PatientPlaya
lvl.2
Flight distance : 512260 ft
Canada

Well I use an MSI 17" laptop I7 processor with 2 external monitors...bought it 2 years ago and I have no problem editing 4k video at all. I think the main things you want is a good processor, dedicated video card and a solid state drive (for installing the app to) you can still store your video on a regular HD.
Anyways my laptop was only 1400 canadian which is almost free in American dollars
2017-5-9
Use props
PatientPlaya
lvl.2
Flight distance : 512260 ft
Canada

Look at gaming computers. They are built for speed and graphics... they will have everything you need to edit video with ease. And get a bigger monitor... 20" is too small.
2017-5-9
Use props
thehippoz
lvl.4
Flight distance : 23 ft
United States