Please select Into the mobile phone version | Continue to access the computer ver.
How Much Signal Interference Can the Mavic Handle?
6317 9 2017-5-10
Uploading and Loding Picture ...(0/1)
o(^-^)o
mavicmedic
New

United States

Hi, Mavic-newbie here,
I just placed my order for the Mavic Pro after watching a number of videos examing the technical capabilities of the drone, however I could not find any videos that reliably tested the amount of interference the drone could handle before it loses signal and initiates RTH.  I feel like it's a relatively simple topic that I'm sure a number of you more experienced pilots could shed some light on to avoid newbies like myself inadvertently triggering RTH.  Here are some scenarios I felt could clear things up:

PS: I know FAA regulations state we cannot fly without a clear line of sight to the drone, but this is for the sake of knowing if I mistakenly pass behind a hill/tree/wall whether or not I will be triggering RTH

Mavic v. Wall (see sketch below): If I fly the mavic directly behind a wall so there is no visual between myself and the drone, how will it fare? What if the wall is made out of cardboard? Glass? Concrete? Steel? Would I notice a difference at a distance of 20 feet vs 2 miles? If I'm on ground level of a city and I fly my mavic around the corner of a building, will it immediately disconnect?

Mavic v. Trees (see sketch below): If I fly the mavic up and over a woodsy area, then down to an altitude of say 20 feet, how will it fare? Does the density or size of the woodsy area matter?

Mavic v. Land (see sketch below): If I fly the mavic up and over a landmass (hill/small mountain) and then, similarly to the above sketch, down to an altitude of 20 feet, how will it fare?

Sorry if this is rather lengthy, but I feel like this would help myself and many other new users to be more careful with our drones!

Mavic v. Wall

Mavic v. Wall

Mavic v. Trees

Mavic v. Trees

Mavic v. Land

Mavic v. Land
2017-5-10
Use props