Please select Into the mobile phone version | Continue to access the computer ver.
UAV Ground School for Canada
4482 15 2015-3-10
Uploading and Loding Picture ...(0/1)
o(^-^)o
Goodwill
lvl.3
  • >>>
Canada

Hey,

I'm just curious for those who are in Canada, did any of you guys take ground school as required by Transport Canada? If so, where did you take it from? What was your experience applying for a Special Flight Certificate afterwards?

2015-3-10
Use props
nalhutta
lvl.3
Flight distance : 138156 ft
Canada

I am also interested in this!
2015-3-10
Use props
budnikasr
lvl.3

Canada

Check out Online Ground School

It covers what you need, but to be honest, you can go and buy the book at an aviation store and pick up a copy of CARS from Transport Canada. TC does recognize self-taught.

Currently TC is under-staffed all depending where you are. Toronto has 6 and their priority is actual aviation services. Currently people I have been working with are waiting for an SFOC to be approved, TC says it takes 20 Business Days, most are about 60-90 days. Probably in smaller centres, it is shorter.

Many are not being approved mainly because the actual application lacks detail of the operation. Don't expect TC to look at a one page document. They want detail on the operation and emergency plans and who is flying it and do they have an understanding of the current rules. I will tell you they are very close to expecting operators in canada to have a radiotelephone operators certificate. I have a relationship with TC and I can also say they are working on creating a full set of regs to be completed by 2017.

Hope this helps!
2015-3-10
Use props
Hooks
lvl.4
Flight distance : 226450 ft
Canada

CCUVS in Medicine Hat occasionally holds ground school classes.  They go over the ROC as well.
2015-3-10
Use props
Dangair
Second Officer

Canada

It's not legally required in Canada yet to my knowledge. Unless your aircraft is over the weight class and Inspire's are not.
2015-3-10