Critical low battery warning @ 50% lost at sea.
12Next >
7867 43 2017-5-28
Uploading and Loding Picture ...(0/1)
o(^-^)o
Jeffyk
lvl.2
Flight distance : 4252 ft
  • >>>
United States

I have been flying DJ I Phantom 3 drones for over seven months. First I started with the Phantom Standard Edition and quickly outgrew that and upgraded to the professional edition. I have become comfortable with flying in both the GPS & ATTI modes. Since I am in information technology and kind of geek, really jumped into drone flying with both feet. I believe I have taken every precaution to fly safely and make sure that my drone is in perfect condition prior to launch.

I really like the DJI drones because of how great my last drone worked. I could always count on it to come back, even though I always have a backup plan for manually maneuvering my drone home in the ATTI mode.

I took my drone out yesterday to search for sharks off of the Pacific Coast. It was a normal day, light winds and sunshine outside. I launched my drone and was flying 1300 ft. out for roughly 7 minutes of flight time. With no warning, my battery went from 64% and shifted to a minus of around -27%. My drone went into the auto descent mode. There was no low battery warning, yet I tried to hit the RTH and everything else that I have carefully practiced for in advance. I watched both visually and through the FPV as my DJI simply descended into the ocean as was swallowed up by the waves.

I am posting this here because I loved my DJI drone and I believe that the DJI drone is a reliable product. I am wondering about the battery itself and why this happened? I always do a pre-flight check and all indications were that the battery was healthy. I never want this to happen to me or anyone else, words cannot even explain how I feel.

2017-5-28
Use props
Geebax
Captain
Australia