Please select Into the mobile phone version | Continue to access the computer ver.
What am I doing wrong, please watch and reply (20 sec vid)
1478 9 2017-6-3
Uploading and Loding Picture ...(0/1)
o(^-^)o
Scott242436
lvl.1
United States

I just got my Mavic and while reviewing the footage I noticed it is super bright sometimes and others it is just fine. I never had this problem with my old phantom and not sure if I'm doing something wrong. I had a ND16 filter on which I have never used before and I fly with auto settings. Is this something with the filter or is the mavic adjusting the exposure mid flight and just getting it wrong? I guess I could change the exposure manually but is so hard to tell when just looking at my iPhone during flying. Any help would be great thank you
2017-6-3
Use props
Matt-and-Riley
First Officer
Flight distance : 324442 ft
United Kingdom

It's the auto exposure, you need manual settings really. Constant hassle to update them when you turn into or away from the sun. But if you've gone to the trouble of a filter may as well go all the way.

Use the histogram to adjust your settings as needed.

Random internet pic

2017-6-3
Use props
Scott242436
lvl.1
United States

Matt-and-Riley Posted at 2017-6-3 10:21
It's the auto exposure, you need manual settings really. Constant hassle to update them when you turn into or away from the sun. But if you've gone to the trouble of a filter may as well go all the way.

Use the histogram to adjust your settings as needed.

Thank you, I will try that next time
2017-6-3
Use props
NoSale
lvl.4
Flight distance : 460958 ft
United States

I use the manual exposure and it helps correct when the lighting changes.  I even turn on zebra stripes as it is more helpful than relying on my view through the display on my phone.  My only dislike is that the exposure wheel seems to be stepped.  So when changing the exposure value, it is obvious to the viewer that the EV is being changed.