Choppy footage
665 8 1-3 01:25
Uploading and Loding Picture ...(0/1)
o(^-^)o
Toph101
lvl.1

United Kingdom

Hi,
I am new to the Osmo and new to video. I'm a pro photographer of 12 years though so I have some understanding. I bough the Osmo becasue I thought it will be easier for me to play around and learn video techniques with simple kit rtaher than using my Sony mirrorless camers straight away.

I have an Osmo Mobile 6, iphone 14 pro max and M1 Macbook Pro with final cut pro.

I took some video clips to produce a walkthrough for a friends holiday let property. I took them at 60fps and slowed then down to 30fps in FCP, but they are choppy. I used Optical Flow to try to correct the choppyness but this didn't help. It's annoying becasue the property is 150 miles away so I cannot re-shoot it easily. The only positive is my wife didn't notice the choppyness at all so I'm sure it will be fine for a website walkthrough video for now. However,  I obvioulsy want to produce the best quality video going fowards.

After some research I realsed that as I used the auto fucntion on the mimo app that maybe the shutter speed wasn't 1/120 as required for smooth footage. I therefore had a play around in my home with manual settings to ensure a shutter speed of 1/120. However the footage is still choppy.

I downloaded filmic pro and took a similr clip with the same settings and this clip is not choppy at all. It looks super smooth at 60fps and slowed to 30fps.

Filmic pro is a cool app but i think it's too expensive for me to use all the time. Also, the Mimo app has some cool features that I like.

Can anyone shed some light on why the mimo app would create choppy video while Filmic pro does not?

BTW I have tried both apps without the Osmo so it is the video that is choppy, not some problem with the Osmo.

Manh thanks
Toph
1-3 01:25
Use props
fans15c6fb85
lvl.4

United States

I have an ongoing thread with DJI about this: https://forum.dji.com/forum.php? ... D783%26typeid%3D783